Cult of selfie

I used to take a lot of selfies for all kinds of reasons. One year, I took a selfie every day and turned it into a video. Another year, I just took a photo with some part of me in it every day. I wanted to do the Everyday app video again last year but kept forgetting and I gave up. That was a real pity because in October I shaved my head to raise money for cancer. The dramatic change and then regrowth might have made for interesting viewing.

Since the birth of Snugglepot I’ve taken fewer and fewer selfies. I still take the occasional one but not nearly with the same energy or enthusiasm as I did before. I also buy fewer things for myself. I used to be a mad keen shopper. I’d buy clothes at the drop of a hat. I’d even buy hats at the drop of…something.

These days, I’m more likely to take photos of and buy clothes for Snugglepot. She’s my world!

Does that mean I’ve lost my identity? I have given way to her?

I don’t think so. I do think less about myself and more about her…but I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing.

I’m still here. I’m still a person in my own right but I love her and put her first…like most parents do for their children.

 

 

This entry was posted in Life choices, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

