Hair-free Fi

Yes, this is another post about my hair. I know I keep writing about this topic but it’s been a part of my identity for as long as I can remember. Just look at the name of my blog! Bun-Toting Librarian!

You can read the full story of my hairdentity over here. The short story is that I began life bald and then ended up with really long hair. I mean REALLY long. Like to my knees long.

I’ve explored all lengths and colours and styles. Other than cornrows, I don’t think there’s a style I haven’t experimented with.

Now I am greying. I always said that I would stop dying my hair when I started to go grey. I colour for fun, not for vanity or shame. If I am grey then that’s who I am. I have been trying to find the right time and the right method to make the transition. I have long since decided that, when the time was right, I would shave it all off and start again with whatever amount of grey there was.

Now is that time.

Hair-collageI could just go ahead and do it but I had another thought. So many people use shaving their hair off as an opportunity to raise money for cancer research. Why not join them?! I want to do this as a positive step in my own journey of self-acceptance but also as a positive step to contribute to the wider society.

How can you help?

Please support the cause of cancer research by supporting me in my quest. Simply go to this page and donate.


 

This entry was posted in Life choices and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hair-free Fi

  1. I hear you !! : )
    Good on you. I’m keeping mine longish (and greyish) for a little while, so I shall contribute to your cause instead. Thank you for what you are doing. Let’s work for a day when Cancer will be just another start sign.

  2. I have made a donation… so I want a video of it being shaved off now!!!!

Leave a Reply

