I’d do anything for pig racing

Today we ventured out to the Redcliffe Show. I love the Show! I actually prefer it to the Brisbane Exhibition which is much bigger and brasher. This is a local show and has lots of cutesy local colour.

I love the pig racing!!! I don’t really know why I love it so much. I just do.

I love seeing names on the competition entries for various arts and crafts and recognising them as people I know. I love that my name was amongst them once upon a time and may be again in the future. I love walking around and bumping into friends. Not just one or two people, either. Lots of friends! I get a wonderful sense of community.

And then there’s the fireworks!

The Ekka in Brisbane has fireworks which are choreographed and timed with music and all sorts of whiz-bang stuff. That’s all well and good but I really just want to see a truckload of rockets exploding in the sky. Send ’em up and make ’em go bang! Redcliffe does that. It goes on and on and it lights up the sky. You can’t really hear the music but you can sure hear the crowd “ooh” and “ahh”. They even put it on earlier in the evening so that children can enjoy it unlike the Brisbane Ekka which has it on too late for most young ones.
Anyway, I had a great time. I love my local show. 🙂

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’d do anything for pig racing

  1. Rachel says:

    I have to make it 15. I’d do anything for love by Meatloaf or is it I’d do anything from Oliver.
    Small pigs are quite cute so I can see the attraction for pig racing.

Leave a Reply

