This little piggy went to market

Today was meant to be a day of R and R but it kinda didn’t go according to plan. I say “plan” but it wasn’t as if there was a strict itinerary we were intending to follow. More like a vague idea that we just wanted to do a particular thing.

That thing was to go to the local markets. We live in a seaside town. In the early days of Queensland free settlement, Redcliffe was actually a resort location. The houses on the esplanades which ring the peninsula were holiday homes for the well-to-do. I know I’m going off on a strange tangent here but I’m proud of my home town. When I go into Trove to do newspaper text corrections I typically target any notices to do with Redcliffe and I’ve recently been reading notices where Brisbane society types have placed notices saying they are holidaying at such and such location at Redcliffe. I’ve grown up reading those names on the houses and it’s nice to be able to connect them with their history.

Anyway, the markets… We usually don’t go because Brisbane people are still coming here for a nice day out. They fill up the parking spaces for the local shops and generally get in the way of locals just doing their daily stuff. Today we decided to be slow-poking touristy types in our own town.

A whole string of events occurred which sort of marred what should have been a relaxing and pleasant experience. If I’m being completely honest, it was probably precipitated by my currently fragile emotional state. I have this tendency at times of high stress to need things to be just so and when they aren’t (because, you know, life) I have a bit of a meltdown. Well, today was meltdown after meltdown. Poor Sean copped it all. Mostly with good grace.

We decided to give Redcliffe a miss for lunch and head over to Sandgate (in Brisbane). It’s just the other side of Bramble Bay. It would be another change of scenery and a different set of eating establishments to choose from. Here’s where we both got a bit miffed. Redcliffe has always really been a holiday town. There are restaurants and cafes all along the waterfront. In fact, almost every second shop is an eatery of some description. I (foolishly) thought Sandgate would have upped its game in the last few years. Nope. What few eating places there may have been were either closed or just really unappealing. (We can go to Coffee Club anywhere.) We ended up finding a fish and chip shop that did the job.

It really could have been a better day. Tomorrow is another one.

Speaking of tomorrow… It’s Monday and that means Monday Meme.

For some time I’ve been a fan of the six word story. So that’s tomorrow’s meme. A blog post containing only 6 words.

P.S. It wasn’t all bad. Snugglepot went to her first petting zoo and met a tiny black piglet.

This entry was posted in Family, Private life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This little piggy went to market

  1. Leesa says:

    I have to admit to a small chucle here (and I’m glad I’m this far away!) You said… “I have this tendency at times of high stress to need things to be just so and when they aren’t (because, you know, life) I have a bit of a meltdown. Well, today was meltdown after meltdown. Poor Sean copped it all. Mostly with good grace.” (a) Love your work, Sean. (b) In times of high stress, you try and turn into me, and fail dismally. But hey, that’s ok… When I’m stressed out, I turn into you and that’s really not pretty. All’s well that ends well, right?

  2. Pingback: Monday meme – six word post - Geocaching Librarian

Leave a Reply

