Throwback Thursday

I’ve been immersed in packing today. As I’ve packed up the drawers of my desk I came across all kinds of stuff. There were old cameras and video recording equipment which I haven’t used in years. My phone does all of that for me now and it does it far better than these old things.

There were USBs and lanyards and name tags from old conferences. As a stay-at-home mum, I don’t get to go to conferences now. I almost had the opportunity to meet up with some people at EBLIP8 but the gathering is on my daughter’s first birthday so that’s a no.

I found a beautiful boxed pen I was given as a gift for speaking about the importance of information management to a group of nurses. I got a little wistful for the times when I used to deliver long information literacy sessions. (I think I was born for that role.) Now my days are filled with guiding a little person learn everything she needs to know about the world around her.

I guess I’ve spend the day looking back and looking forward. How life was, how it is and how it will be. While I do definitely miss the professional contact with other librarians and I miss the excitement of teaching clinicians about databases and how to get the most out of them, I am constantly rewarded with giggles and smiles and new actions as my little girl learns and grows.

What I’ll be doing this time next year is anyone’s guess. One thing is for sure, I won’t be needing these:

This entry was posted in Private life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

