Taking a moment

Yesterday’s post might not have seemed too earth shattering to some upon reading it but it was pretty momentous for me. It was actually part one of two that I particularly want to let go this month. I’m still working on the second one.Thank you

I’d like to thank those who responded to me whether it was on the blog itself, via Facebook or Twitter for your kindness, respect and support.

I really was speaking of a time in my life which was a sustained period of humiliation and exploitation. It was damaging as it was a formative time in my life and I have come to expect that kindness is really just a ruse. I’m still working my way through that and trying to understand that some people are kind because they are kind. Not everyone wants to use me or set me up for failure.

Today I’m going to reflect on those supportive responses and take a moment to accept genuine kindness.

This entry was posted in Life choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a moment

  1. Leesa says:

    Yep. Can agree with all of that. I’m still working on understanding people too. Most of the time I don’t get them either. Your statement “I have come to expect that kindness is really just a ruse. I’m still working my way through that and trying to understand that some people are kind because they are kind. Not everyone wants to use me or set me up for failure.” resonated for me too. Fortunately for me, one of those horrible people is about to leave my life (I’ll tell you who it is privately) and I can’t wait!

    PS – do you want that quote referenced in Harvard or APA?

    L

  2. Laurel says:

    The loss of trust and belief in the kindness of people is just such a sad thing to happen to a child. As you have found, it is very hard to recover. I am glad you are making steps towards it, Fi – there is a kindly, trustworthy world out there too. xxx

Leave a Reply

