Foundations

I’ve been a little preoccupied the last couple of days and it has left me unable to post here. I’m sorry for that. I have still maintained a daily reflection but it has been a personal one and not shared with you, dear reader.

I’m currently writing this when I really should be in bed. So I shall be brief.

My reflections recently have made me truly appreciate how important it is to have a solid foundation. We need nourishment to give us strength to cope with what life throws at us. That nourishment comes in many forms. It can be the food which sustains us or sleep to replenish our energy. It can even be spiritual food from receiving Eucharist or hearing the Word of God. This too gives us strength to face the challenges in our lives.

I am reminded of the importance of connecting deeply with those we love. This is a form of nourishment which I think I can sometimes neglect. Superficial connection doesn’t sustain a relationship. We need to work on connecting at a fundamental level so the relationship remains strong. As the world chips away at us, the foundation holds firm and keeps us sturdy.

This entry was posted in Life choices, Reflection, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Foundations

  1. Pingback: We are one | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

