On the sixth day of Christmas

The sixth day of Christmas gave me SHOPPING.

In years past I would think nothing of spending great wads of cash in the post-Christmas sales. This year I haven’t the wads. I satisfied my needs in modest fashion. I bought only the essentials…and I was honest with myself about what “essentials” actually meant.

Since having Snugglepot, I’ve lost considerable weight. I don’t mind saying that I’ve been overweight for most of my adult life. I have clothes in my wardrobe which were a comfortable size 22. (Technically, I have some size 24 pyjamas but that’s because I like them loose and I got super-big ones for my pregnancy.)

Now, I can say that even size 18 clothes feel a little loose. The knowledge that I’ve dropped from a size 22/24 to 16/18 in under 6 months with little to no effort is kinda hard to grasp. One thing is certain… New clothes are a necessity.

I’m also rediscovering old clothes I’d put aside in the hope of fitting them again. The reality there is that while they may well fit, they are ridiculously unsuitable for this decade of my life and society.

I remember someone saying many years ago that if you wore something when it/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cab/13988927/files/2014/12/img_2398.jpg was in fashion you shouldn’t wear it when it comes back into fashion. I think it’s to prevent the “mutton dressed as lamb” faux pas which is all too common. Today I stepped out in a denim waistcoat which I’d kept since my 20s. I saw some in the shops today and wondered if I’d committed a fashion crime! Then I spotted a “tattoo choker” and I had vivid recollections of wearing one of those in my 20s. I think I still have it and I am sure as hell drawing the line at that!

There’s also the change to my body shape. My tummy is much flatter than it was and my hips and butt also seem to have reduced. By contrast, I’m even more busty than before. I guess the hourglass has evened out.

I accepted my body for all its idiosyncrasies a few years ago. Now I have a new body to love and accept…and a few new clothes to wrap it in!

This entry was posted in Private life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

