On the first day of Christmas

The first day of Christmas has given me FAMILY.

This is the first Christmas for our little family of three. Róisín won’t remember it but I know that we will.

I wasn’t as prepared by Christmas Eve as I had hoped so that meant spending the morning playing catch up on cooking, wrapping presents and generally preparing the house for the rest of the family to come over for the day’s festivities. This was also the first year that I have hosted the family feast.

I’d been really looking forward to having everyone here to celebrate Ró’s first Christmas and my expectations were far exceeded. Despite the busy start to the day, I was far more relaxed than I thought I would be and I’m pretty sure everyone had a great day. I know I did!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/cab/13988927/files/2014/12/img_2333.jpgOne of the highlight’s of the day for me was that my culinary experiments were all successful. Growing up, Christmas dinner for me was a traditional hot meal. This year I made my first foray into the more Australian tradition of a cold smorgasbord affair…complete with prawns. Actually, I’m not a fan of seafood (including prawns) so there were loads of those left over. I made a cola baked ham which was really moist and gave some beautiful crackling. I’ll be doing that again!  I also made a few salads: roast vegetables with a balsamic glaze (one of my go-to favourites) and two new experiments – green beans and almonds with blistered cherry tomatoes and a corn salsa. They were all lovely and I’ll be adding those to my regular dinner repertoire. I also did my usual dessert…cheesecake, of course! This year’s offering was a Christmas pudding flavour.

Spending the day eating yummy food was nice but the best part was being surrounded by the people I love most. My family. To share my baby’s first Christmas in this way was more than I could have imagined. I feel so blessed.

I am planning to share a Christmas carol or song for each day of this #blog12daysxmas. I might sing one or two myself but I’m a little too tired for that today so I will leave you with Enya singing Oíche Chiúin.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

