Coming of age

Twenty-one.

It’s an odd number. Literally.

I’ve been reflecting on the importance of 21 over the past week.  On the weekend, one of my nieces turned 21 years old and today my little baby is 21 weeks old.

In the first 21 weeks of her life I have watched my precious daughter grow and learn and discover the world around her. She is becoming more mobile and is asserting herself and her own personality more and more.

Every day I see some new thing that intrigues her. It is a joy and a privilege to be witness her explore our world which is now hers to discover.

I won’t embarrass my niece by drawing comparisons and talking about her coming of age. I will just wish her every success and say I’m very proud of the woman she is.

I wonder what the next 21 years hold for my little one?

This entry was posted in Family, Private life, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

