Getting stronger

I am on a journey. It is a journey of self-help, self-empowerment and self-discovery.

Journeys like these are never easy. Most people will shy away from the challenge. They don’t take the opportunity to meet themselves and their demons head-on. Some will but they may only go part of the way and be frightened by what they learn and stop along the wayside because it’s much safer there.

I have been broken down by things that have happened in my life. I have let the rocks on my path become insurmountable boulders. I have let people’s harsh words settle in my heart with caustic effect.

I was sceptical of compliments. I was deaf to the kind words. I chose to only listen to the character assassinations. I immersed myself in the depths of self-doubt and deprecation. It was comfortable. It sometimes still is.

However, I’m literally days away from becoming somebody’s mother. Is this the role model I want to be for my child? Do I want to make my mark in his or her mind as a downtrodden husk?

Absolutely not!

I will embrace my successes and failures with equal vigour. I will not shy away from who I am at my core. If I have done well then I will revel in my victories. If I have not then I will own my inadequacies and use them as stones to build myself up to do better next time.

I am not perfect. I am not seeking to be. I am me and that is a fine thing.

Tomorrow, for my penultimate #blogjune 2014 post, I hope to share the story of one of my hardest battles. I mentioned it earlier this month and alluded to it back in 2011. Tomorrow I hope and pray I have the courage to name that demon.

Shifting gear…how’s about a bit of Musical Challenge!!!!!



This entry was posted in Life choices, Private life, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Getting stronger

  1. Ann says:

    I know two of them!

    24 is Music Box Dancer. That’s one of my favourites!

    25 is Death is Not the End.

  2. Leesa says:

    23 = Walking on the moon

  3. Katie says:

    First one is walking on the moon by the police?

  4. Katie says:

    Oops too late

Leave a Reply

