Sounding off

I’m sick of blogging about being sick yet there seems to be little else going on for me. I’ll try to get out of my rut and talk about something more meaningful for a while.

Actually, I’m a little ranty tonight. SoundCloud has sparked my ire. In the last 24hrs they updated their mobile app. They are clearly repositioning themselves as an audio streaming app. The interface has been gutted in the name of simplicity. They have removed the features that drew me to it in the first place. No longer can the user record sounds. That, for me, was the drawcard. I’ve never considered it a streaming app. Yes, I do listen to music there but it would mostly be tracks uploaded by friends or catchup audio from radio segments I’d missed.

RandoPics.jpgI’ve made use of SoundCloud this year as part of the Musical Challenge so I’ve become a bit more invested as a user. I had previously recorded sounds of mating frogs in my backyard or the happy sounds of my cats purring as they eat. I found the app to be a novel way of capturing the world around me. I take photos on my phone almost everyday. They aren’t always shared but sometimes they are. Capturing and occasionally sharing the sounds that appeal to me kinda fills that same desire. Sure, I could just do a little video but there’s something special about hearing a sound and allowing it to transport you to another place in your heart.

Given that I only had a free SoundCloud account, I supposed I’m only a fraction as bummed as I might otherwise have been. I was getting close to my time limit of recording so I was seriously considering paying for a Pro account. Well, let me tell you that is most certainly off the cards now! I’ll be looking out for alternative hosting for my audio…be it music or other.

Now, before it all goes to hell in a handbasket, here are a few more songs for the Musical Challenge!!!!

Songs 16, 17 and 19 (on yesterday’s post) are yet to be answered. Go back and have a crack at them – you could be a winner!




 

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sounding off

  1. jackielb79 says:

    20 is I will survive!

  2. jackielb79 says:

    21 is Airbag by Radiohead

  3. jackielb79 says:

    22 is Just the way you are

Leave a Reply

