On the twelfth day of Christmas

On the twelfth day of Christmas I was fed.

I went to Mass…in a Cathedral. I also ate a most delicious burger and fries. After Mass, of course!

20140105-225858.jpg

St Patrick’s Cathedral, Auckland

This weekend the Catholic Church celebrates the Feast of Epiphany. The actual feast day is tomorrow and I will
blog my customary Epiphany post to conclude #blog12daysxmas as that is what the twelve days lead to. Over the years, many feast days have been moved to the closest Sunday and Epiphany is one such.

Mass was beautiful. It had all the pomp and ritual one comes to expect from Mass in a Cathedral…compared to a more outlying parish. Singing was lead by an enthusiastic red-robed cantor who sang from a dedicated ambo on the sanctuary. The organist played the pipe organ with world-class skill. The concelebrated Mass was rich with sung responses and generous helpings of thurible!

Mass, to me, is much more than ritual and tradition. Observing good liturgical practice is something I greatly admire and I believe it is the best way of demonstrating respect for the importance of the Mass and the feast of the day.

20140105-225922.jpg

Kumara fries

After Mass, it was time for lunch and I could think of nothing better than New Zealand’s own BurgerFuel. Lashings of tasty aioli don my favourite of their offerings, Bio-Fuel…sans egg for me, please. An accompaniment of kumara (sweet potato) fries, again with more aioli, tops this meal off. I washed it down with another Kiwi offering…L&P. Today was the first time I’d tasted that. I quite enjoyed it. My only regret was that I couldn’t finish the meal! I find that I have a very tiny appetite since I’ve become pregnant. Between eating little and being so unwell I’ve actually lost weight. I’m not too bothered about that. I have a good, healthy reserve to keep the bub well looked after.

Oh, but those fries! I think I shall want them always.

It was a day to be spiritually and bodily fed. I am replete.

This entry was posted in Mass, Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

