On the eighth day of Christmas

On the eighth day of Christmas I made an announcement. Hold on. I’ll get to that in a little bit.

Given my current circumstances for blogging (on handheld devices at only certain times of day) I did not feel comfortable to write the long, protracted reflection on the past year as I might otherwise have done. Nevertheless, I feel I should just say the year was not without its ups and downs. I had my fair share of ill health, most notably tearing a ligament in my knee and falling down the stairs…which has left my legs considerably compromised in their stability. Anyway, rather than dwelling on what has been I would like to focus on what is to come.

As regular readers and friends would know, I am in a new relationship with a wonderful man…Sean. Coming out of one relationship and starting another was pretty much the theme of 2013 for me. Now we are taking a step closer to one another by becoming parents.

I didn’t think this was even possible for me as I have a medical condition which would seem to exclude me from the Mummy Club. However, we worked our way through the difficulties and I found out that my dreams of parenthood could actually be achievable.

So, this explains why I have not been able to shake that cold which stood on the precipice of pneumonia. It is the reason why I had to stay in bed for so long. My first trimester was quite a challenge. Not just morning sickness (morning my —-!) but also symphysis pubis disorder since about 8 weeks. The doctor ordered bed rest and bed rest I had. Sean fetches and carries, cooks, cleans and cares in a way that still humbles me and makes me choke up. He does it all with good humour and grace. I could go on but it would only get more soppy.

So, there you have it. Announcement made…and I couldn’t be happier!

20140101-085813.jpg

This entry was posted in Family, Private life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On the eighth day of Christmas

  1. Rachel says:

    That is the best news I’ve heard for ages. Congratulations to both of you. You will make excellent parents.

  2. bookgrrl says:

    This is the best news to wake up to on New Year’s Day- congratulations to you and Sean!

  3. Lovely news Fi, more power to you both in 2014 xx

  4. leesaphilip says:

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats to both of you!!

  5. snail says:

    Fabulous news and all makes sense. Really glad things are working out 🙂

  6. jzgarnett says:

    I am so happy for you!

  7. Oh fantastic! I did wonder, so glad to have it confirmed. Much love!!

  8. laurah88 says:

    Woooow! That’s so exciting 🙂 Congrats Fi, happy for both of you 🙂

  9. Pingback: From #blogjune with love | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

