On the fifth day of Christmas

On the fifth day of Christmas we went for a road trip. It turned out to be a warmer day and quite a nice one for a drive. I said to Sean, “Take me somewhere…anywhere…I don’t care where!” So he took me north.

20131229-225321.jpg

Orewa

There was no real plan but insofar as there was a vague idea the plan was to go to Orewa. Which we did. We had a beautiful lunch in a nice little cafe across from the beach. Then we strolled across the road so I could be all touristy. As if I’d never seen beach before. As if I don’t live metres from one! I must say the thing that does strike me most about the beaches I’ve seen here in New Zealand is the colour of the sea and the sand. I’m used to a deep blue/green framed by golden sand. Here the water is turquoise with some darker patches. It looks like a faceted jewel. The sand is dark. Charcoal. Even black as I recall from a previous visit.

20131229-225331.jpg

Puhoi

After the lunch in Orewa, we headed on further north and came to the most quaint little place ever – Puhoi. It was full of historic little buildings and had such charm. It has been added to my list of places to come back to. Sean recalled a cheese factory just outside the village so we went there and he picked up for himself a cheesy little treat. πŸ™‚

20131229-225349.jpg

Mahurangi River (Warkworth)

On further we went. To Warkworth. I took a stroll down by the Mahurangi River and was enchanted by the birdlife. I rather suspect I’m a closet twitcher.

20131229-225358.jpg

Hokey-pokey!

All that was left at that point was to have a good old hokey-pokey ice-cream and head for home. And not a moment too soon for it wasn’t long before the heavens opened and the soaking rain brought an end to the good driving weather we’d enjoyed earlier in the day. Nevertheless, we arrived home safely and it was a really enjoyable day out.

This entry was posted in Private life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the fifth day of Christmas

  1. Rachel says:

    It sounds like you are having a nice relaxing holiday. I really must go to the North Island some time. It sounds just as lovely as the south.

Leave a Reply

