Monday Meme: Travel

I honestly can’t recall where I found this meme. Apologies for that.

How old were you when you first travelled?
I have seen photos of myself at the Apple and Grape Festival when I was just one year old (where I apparently got my first 4 teeth). However, the first trip I can remember was going to Canberra for Christmas in 1983. Dad drove a yellow Ford Telstar (a work car) down the New England Highway via Dubbo, stopping at the Western Plains Zoo. Our time there was cut short as Mum had a severe asthma attack on account of the weather. We returned via Katoomba and the Blue Mountains and continued along the Pacific Highway. Even though I was only 8, I remember it as if it was yesterday. šŸ™‚

What is your favourite form of travelling: car, bus, train, or plane?
I’m a big fan of air travel. I hate turbulence and I’m afraid of my own shadow but I quite like flying.

Where did you go on your first road trip?

Ciaran, Cormuin, Eoin and I on the stone outside Dan Murphy's Door.

Ciaran, Cormuin, Eoin and I on the stone outside Dan Murphy’s Door.

Well, I’ve kind of answered that but this might be asking about a road trip where I was a driver. If so, that would be when I was living in Dublin. I hired a car and took a trip around the south-east (Wicklow, Wexford, Waterford, etc). I have a recollection we got as far west as Youghal before we decided to head for home.

I did a few road trips while living over there. One of my faves was a weekend away to Cork & Kerry with my mates Eoin, Cormuin and Ciaran. I got more sunburned inĀ Gougane Barra than I ever did when living in Australia!

Where did you go on your first bus ride?
The earliest bus rides I remember would’ve been school excursions…local trips only. I caught a public bus with a friend when I was about 10. As for long-haul buses, I occasionally caught those in Ireland if the railways were being serviced.

Where did you go on your first train ride?
The earliest train rides I remember we’re our family’s annual trip to Brisbane city. And my first long train trip was from Brisbane to Proserpine in the mid-1990s.

Where did you go on your first plane ride?
Ireland in 1987. British Airways. Brisbane – Singapore – Abu Dhabi – London – Dublin. It was brilliant! Also, I was meeting my extended family for the first time and that was pretty wonderful.

Motion sickness? Treatment of choice?
I don’t get motion sickness so this is a moot point. Actually, I can get nauseous just from walking around! So staying calm and taking deep breaths is a good start.

Where would you like to go that you haven’t been?
Africa and Antarctica would complete my collection of continents. However, I’d be keen to go to major European cities (Paris & Rome in particular). I’ve passed through rural parts of France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, etc but only en route to other places.

Where would you like to go back to?
I always want to go back to Ireland. There’s a particular spot…about 500m down the road from my Dad’s childhood home.

Travelling alone or with someone?
It’s always nice to share the joy of the journey with a companion.

Your ultimate travelling dream?
To go when I want, where I want and to travel and stay in a level of comfort and luxury to which I’d like to become accustomed.

No Musical Challenge again today because it’s been a bit of a big day. There’s plenty of unanswered songs so go back and try your luck.

This entry was posted in Meme, Private life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday Meme: Travel

  1. Pingback: Travel meme - Geocaching Librarian

Leave a Reply

