The Twitter

20130614-105013.jpgYou all sit there. Quietly. Waiting. Behind a door that is just a tiny bit ajar.

I know you’re all talking. I am vaguely aware of a soft rumbling mumbling. Sometimes I peek in and hear you. Your words take shape and become more audible, more visible.

I don’t always say anything.

Sometimes I open the door and step in. I converse with you. I am one of you.

Sometimes I open the door and quietly say something and slip out again.

I know you’re there. Sometimes you know I am too.

Sometimes you call out my name and my ears prick up. I come running in to the room. There we are – together again.

I’m never very far away. You’re always there. Even in the middle of the night. Even in the middle of the day. Even now.

It’s a big world out there and you remind me that I’m a part of it.

Thank you.

=+=+=+=+=

Musical Challenge!!!!!

There are a few songs to clear up, so why not go back and have a look and try your luck!

Continuing the theme of the past couple of days…

Song 38:

When the work’s all done and the sun’s settin’ low
I pull out my fiddle and I rosin’ up the bow

Song 39:

I’ve been walkin’ these streets so long
Singin’ the same old song

This entry was posted in Reflection, Social media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Twitter

  1. leesaphilip says:

    #38 Thank God I’m a country boy!

  2. leesaphilip says:

    But thankfully he’s not #39 a Rhinestone Cowboy!

  3. Catherine says:

    I’m no good on the musical challenge, but love your description of Twitter – that really is just what it is like! Great blog post šŸ™‚
    Catherine

    • FiFYI says:

      Thanks! I was beginning to think that my posts were going unread and that my blog followers were jumping straight to the musical challenge!

      I’m glad you liked it. šŸ™‚

      • Catherine says:

        You could ration the musical challenges – then people would have to keep reading just to see when one will pop up šŸ˜‰

      • FiFYI says:

        I’m surprised at how popular it is! I read out some of last year’s songs at dinner with friends last Saturday. It made for a wonderful after-dinner game.

  4. Pingback: Catherine's Online Learning Journal » Blog Archive » #yabbiefriday reruns for a lazy end to the week

  5. ajwillemse91 says:

    Great post Fiona!This was one of these I flagged to come back to and comment for #CommentJuly as I LOVE your description of Twitter. I love how it connects us with a community of like-minded people and how we can come and go freely – just dipping our toes sometimes and other times we can dive right into a conversation. I also really like your musical challenge – but the only one I knew was your very first one this year (Memory from Cats and the Lovecats by the Cure) and someone bet me to it! Maybe next year… Keep on being awesome šŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: The Octopus Librarian | This could be a hard habit to break…

Leave a Reply

