Which Fiona?

For 6 years in the past 37 I had a unique name and was pretty bloody certain there was only one person on the planet with that name.  For the other 31 years, I’ve been two-a-penny.

So, who are these other Fiona Doyles?

Enter Google.

Search: Fiona Doyle
This Fiona Doyle is a 47yr old Irish woman who is a survivor of childhood sexual abuse.

Search: “Fiona Doyle”
Also shows the other Fiona Doyle but the next Fiona in the results was the winner of the women’s 100 breaststroke at the Irish national swimming championships.

Search: “Fiona Doyle” site:.au
The first result here is actually someone that my mother even thought was me!! She heard on the radio that “Fiona Doyle” would be speaking at the State Library Of Queensland and she rang to ask me why I didn’t tell her. It was because I’m not the daughter of a Mbaiwum or born in the Torres Strait. Nor am I the author of Whispers of this Wik Woman. That’s who topped this result list.

Search: “Fiona M. Doyle”
This would be Professor Fiona M. Doyle of the University of California (Berkeley), who received a doctorate for her work in hydrometallurgy and now does research on solution chemistry in the processing and behavior of minerals, materials, wastes and effluents.

Search: “Fiona M. Doyle” site:.au
This also brings up the professor…by way of her publications listed on Australian sites.  However, joy of joys, the next unique result is me!!!! I used to be on the Editorial Board for ALIA publication Quill and some of my little articles are returned in these results.

So, how far do I have to go to get the first result in Google to be me. Naturally, a search for me using my married name would bring me up in a flash. I’ve really only reverted to my maiden name quite recently so I’m not surprised that the results I’m getting are pretty old and buried deep in these result lists. But surely there’s a search that would have me at the top of the list!

Search: Fiona Winston-Brown
It’s all me! The first result is this Bun-Toting Librarian blog.

Actually, the search which puts me in first place isn’t too difficult. Simply adding “Brisbane” or “Redcliffe” (my hometown) to “Fiona Doyle” gets me in that first place. It’s a trip down memory lane to see what I was doing 10 years ago (that when some of these results date back to!). It will be nice to see more recent stuff appear in the results but, for now, I’m satisfied that I’m still in the running.

As for a Google Images search, here’s an interesting snapshot:Fionas I’m results 3 and 4 (along with Sharon Uthmann in pic 4).Fiona littleFor the record, I’m never going red or blonde again!!

Now, how about that Musical Challenge!!!!!

All songs to date have now been answered. Jackie, Sean and Steph saw to that. There was a time tussle between Sean and Sharon (from the pic) but Sean just pipped Sharon by a matter of seconds to take the win. It’s exciting stuff, folks!

Sean also scored the point for getting the theme over the past few days which was “Times of Day”. Today sees a new theme.  I’ll call for answers on this in a few days from now.

Song 13:

Set a course for adventure,
Your mind on a new romance.

Song 14:

Yeah, we tease him a lot
’cause we got him on the spot.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Which Fiona?

  1. John Nebauer says:

    ‘Oooh! Ooh! Mistah Kottah. How was your cruise?’

    ‘Captain Stubing managed to not sink us.’

    • FiFYI says:

      I’ll give it to you. I certainly hope you aren’t Googling these answers, Mr Nebauer!

      Also, I’m kicking myself now that I didn’t institute my one song per person rule of previous years. This is the second time you’ve done a clean sweep. Well played, sir. Congratulations.

  2. taphappy says:

    you’re not a fiona margaret are you?

  3. Pingback: What’s in my name | There she goes

  4. Gosh you and Sharon look young! (Not saying that your old now though :P)

Leave a Reply

