On the twelfth day of Christmas

On the twelfth day of Christmas I shared myself.

Well, that just looks like a weird sentence, doesn’t it?!

I met two beautiful souls for the first time: @hakiclark and @stitchsarah. We, along with @seanfish, shared good food and good conversation. Stories were told. Smiles beamed. Hearts were opened. Hugs were had. Topics discussed were from the mundane to the meaningful.

So I had the privilege to share a part of my story – my self – with lovely people who, in turn, shared their stories with me. It was a special part of my day and a very special part of my holiday so far.

20130105-195510.jpgThis evening, despite being on holiday…in another parish…in ANOTHER COUNTRY!!!!…I volunteered my services as organist (and singer) at Mass. Being the Feast of Epiphany, the parish priest was glad to give the Mass the music the feast deserves and I was glad I could be a part of that worshipping community in that way.

It was another first for me… I played the entire Mass on a pipe organ. I’ve played pipe before but usually only as a visitor “having a go”. I had literally only minutes to familiarise myself to the instrument and all in full hearing of the congregation below. Oh yeah! That’s the other thing! I was up in the choir loft! I’ve never played from a loft before!

So I had the joy of sharing my talent – a part of my self.

For all the sharing, for the giving of myself… I don’t feel like anything is missing. Rather, I feel like I have gained so very much. I feel both at peace and stronger. Uplifted. Supported. Embraced.

Not a bad way to end the day.

Stay tuned tomorrow for Epiphany and my reflection on #blog12daysxmas.

 

This entry was posted in Mass, Music, Private life, Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the twelfth day of Christmas

  1. Penny says:

    Hooray! An awesome day. And pipes!

  2. Leesa Philip says:

    Woo hoo!! And you even got to play a beautiful organ!

  3. Alexander says:

    Cool! I’d love to play a pipe for mass! Must have been awesome!

  4. Pingback: Epiphany | Bun-toting Librarian

  5. jenelle says:

    That is unreal! Well done! Come to Brooklyn and play ours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

