On the second day of Christmas

On the second day of Christmas I went shopping.

Long time followers might be forgiven for having a moment of déjà vu as I did this last year and the year before.

I went to a different shopping centre and this time I went with my mother who had been spared the ordeal from previous years. She commented on the bedlam she witnessed which, to my eyes, was a walk in the park in comparison to 2011 and 2010 at the other shopping centre.

20121226-232533.jpgI found parking quickly and close to a door. I was not subjected to the sensory assault as with the previous Boxing Day sales.

People were reasonably pleasant and accommodating. I even bumped into a work colleague and we had a little chat about life in the midst of 50% off 1000 thread count Egyptian cotton sheet sets.

I went to get a shopping trolley for myself (to scoop up all my bargains) and as I dislodged the orgiastic trolleys I saw a woman waiting and I gave her the first trolley to break free. She was most appreciative. She beamed a lovely smile at me and expressed her thanks.

These simple things such as a smile and a thank you are all it takes to make us human. Amongst the bargain bins and chaos of the sales we can all take a moment to be kind. It may be the only kindness a person receives in their day. You never really know the impact of your actions.

I now recall a moment from my early 20s when I was a personnel consultant. One of my clients came to drop something off to me but didn’t ask to see me. I happened to walk into the reception area en route to lunch just as he reached the door to leave. I called him back. I noticed his eyes were red. I took him into an interview room and we sat and talked. We talked for 2 hours. Actually, he talked and he cried and I listened.

I recall that conversation as vividly as if it were yesterday because at the end of that conversation he confessed to me what his plans for that afternoon. He intended to take his own life.

I saw him the next day. And the next week and by the week after that I’d found him a job.

Sometimes, a smile or an open ear or the dislodging of a stupid shopping trolley might make a difference in someone’s life.

Extend a hand of love.

 

This entry was posted in Life choices, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the second day of Christmas

  1. corrinne says:

    Absolutely! I often think that when I see mums with tired tots and truculent trolley or people waiting for a break in the traffic to turn . It’s just as easy to help as to complain and you never know the difference you have made. Or to put it another way….do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

  2. Leesa says:

    Agree with Corrinne completely! Do unto others as you would have them do unto you is life rule no 2 for me…

  3. Pingback: Epiphany | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

