Wet…Wednesday

Wednesday.

Windy.

Winter.

Weary.

Weird.

Work

Wet.

Water-marble!

What woeful weather we’re wearing!

I woke with my now trademark morning headache. This is a worrisome trend.

As the weather was so wet and windy and hubby’s umbrella got decapitated in the last gusty downpour, I did the kind thing and offered him mine in my semi-wakefulness.  When I woke fully I realised I’d done something possibly a little silly.  I let him take one of my most prized possessions – my Pigsback umbrella! It’s silly but I really love this umbrella.  It took me a while to earn the points to claim it and I ordered it just before my Dad died when I was living in Dublin.  By the time it was being delivered, I’d moved back to Australia to be with Mum.  One of my dear friends undertook to collect it and post it to me.  It travelled the distance unharmed and I have taken good care of it ever since.  It is the most wonderful umbrella ever made!  Big, broad, strong and well able to protect me.  Just what a girl wants!

I ended up having to go to Mum’s place to borrow one of hers.  Hubby was suitably warned what would happen to him in the event of my Pigsback baby coming to any harm or misadventure!  Good man that he is, he returned it in the same state it left.  (Lucky for him!)

Now, how about some Musical Challenge?

Song 52 was answered practically within minutes of being posted! Julia takes the gold medal for speed with her answer, LDN by Lily Allen.  Peta correctly answered Song 51 as Come On Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners.

The first of today’s two songs happens to be quite ironic and I assure you this is playing as I write this!  I’ve loved this song since I was a little girl.  I remember hanging upside down on the monkey bars at school and singing this. No wonder I didn’t have many friends at school!  Not the kind of cool behaviour that makes for a popular kid.  I didn’t really care – I just did my own thing. I suppose nothing’s really changed on that score.  Every time I heard this song I’d always remember those days when I would literally hang out and sing in an empty playground before school.  More recently, hearing this song makes me think of Spencer Howson who played it on the radio and made an interesting observation about the tempo. Now that’s the first thought that comes to mind and my monkey bar solo plays second fiddle!

The second song makes me think of my father and it makes me cry.

Song 53:

Never saw the sun shinin’ so bright
Never saw things goin’ so right
Noticing the days hurrying by
When you’re in love, my how they fly

Song 54:

I peeked in to say good-night
When I heard my child in prayer

This entry was posted in Private life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wet…Wednesday

  1. Spencer says:

    Blue Skies (which, twice, completely halves its tempo near the song! Passengers, check that driver is still awake if this beautiful but hypnotic song comes on the radio!) and (I think) Scarlett Ribbons.

  2. Alexander says:

    LOL The PIGSBACK UMBRELLA! It is one of the few in the world to see a Father Jiggle! 😛

Leave a Reply

