Harvard

What an odd day this has been!

I woke with a thumping great headache and major dizziness that seemed utterly resistant to all my attempts to alleviate my pain and discomfort. I didn’t feel I was able to drive to work so my mother very kindly obliged. I was headachey, dizzy and nauseous for most of the day but I felt that moving at half my normal pace and getting half the day’s work done was better than getting no work done at all.

At the end of the day, one of my work friends gave me a lift back to Mum’s house but before we could leave work I spotted a little creature who seemed very out of place at the hospital where I work. A little ginger and white cat.

He was very timid at first but he soon warmed to me and even wanted to get into the car with me! I just wanted to be sure he was safe away from the car as we left. I was concerned that such a little cat (possibly about 6 months old) had no home, no food and no warm place to sleep.

We left him and went to my mum’s place. Mum and I came back about 15 minutes later to see if I could see him but there was no sign so we continued on home to my place. Some hours later, after a little chat with hubby (also a cat lover), we went back again to the hospital car park to see if the poor little mite was there. We searched a little further and we heard him meowing…at the library door! Some cleaners were at the door and they heard him and picked him up.

20120622-222851.jpgWe discussed what to do with the little guy and I offered to take care of him and contact vets, councils, RSPCA or whoever one has to contact when a lost animal is found. We also gave him a name. One of the staff members present, also a regular library patron, gave him the name Harvard…after the referencing system, of course…and we talked about him being our library cat.

Harvard, or Harvey as we’re calling him here at home, has worked his way into my heart in only a matter of hours. I know I probably can’t keep him – we have two cats already – but he sure is a very affectionate and loving addition to the family…even if it is only for the weekend.

Now for the Musical Challenge.

Song 39 is still up for grabs but George answered Song 40 as In my Head by Jason De Rulo. Also, Mark correctly answered Song 25 as Fade Into You by Mazzy Star.

Song 41:

It is complete now the two ends of time are neatly tied
A one-way street, she’s walking to end of the line
And there she meets the faces she keeps in her heart and mind

 

Song 42:

And I’m thinking in what a mess we’re in
Hard to know when to begin
If I could slip the sickly ties that earthly man has made

 

This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Harvard

  1. Pingback: Harvey’s big day | Bun-toting Librarian

  2. Harvard looks like a real sweetie 🙂

  3. leesaphilip says:

    Ahhh, now that I have a chance to review the songs without rushing from one job to another…

    I’m thinking 42 is Jamiroquai? Virtual Insanity?

Leave a Reply

