2012 – National Year of Reading

I’m about to say something that most people think is really weird. It’s not a secret. I’ve said it before. Yet, it’s somehow an odd statement for a librarian to make.

I don’t read.

I was an insatiable reader as a child and even well into adulthood.  I always used to read just before bed.  I could read almost an entire book before bed if it was a good book.  I think things changed when I met my husband. We didn’t have bedside tables or bedside lamps when I first moved in.  My bedtime routine completely changed.  Then I got out of the habit of reading.  Even having the right furniture and lighting didn’t get me back into the books.

My life is so different now to how it was when reading was part of my day.  I’m so much more fatigued at the end of the day.  More stressed, more restless and probably more in need of relaxation than I ever was!

I had made a promise to myself at the beginning of the year that, as this was the National Year of Reading, I really should try and read more.  The year is almost half over and I have not read even one book.

Come to think of it, I’ve only made good on one of those promises in that list.  Perhaps, this is the time to reassess why I’m stressed and tired and maybe, just maybe, taking time to enjoy reading and other hobbies just might help me relax enough to find the energy I need to sustain the other parts of my life.

Musical Challenge, anyone?

Nobody even took a shot at yesterday‘s songs so no winners to announce today.

Song 37:

There’s a hickie or a bruise
Pictures of last night
Ended up online
I’m screwed

 

Song 38:

If I could, I would
Let it go
Surrender
Dislocate

This entry was posted in Life choices, Private life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2012 – National Year of Reading

  1. Xanth says:

    Song 37 is Katy Perry’s last Friday night. Not so sure on the other one. I find I don’t read as much as I used to either – also the too much to do. :/

  2. Freya says:

    Today is U2 – Bad. (I think)

  3. dags says:

    37 is Friday Night by Katy Perry??
    I don’t know the other one.

    Find some time to read. I find that there’s not much better at the end of a stressful day than sitting down with a cup of tea and a book. The choice of book is irrelevant, sometimes it’s something deep and engaging, other times it’s waffle written by one of the Top Gear boys – either way, I get a little piece of peace.

    • fionawb says:

      Yes it is but Xanthea beat you to the punch.

      I started a book nearly 3 years ago and it’s still in the top drawer of the bedside table. The bookmark hasn’t moved in about 2.5 years.

    • Julia G says:

      I haven’t read any of Clarkson’s books but even though I’m not a “car person,” I find the boys and their show hilarious. Have Hammond or May written books too?

  4. hey but u sing!!! Not it is therefore ok not to read but you do sing!! =)

  5. Julia G says:

    Maybe Fi could do a cover of Last Friday Night for us?

Leave a Reply

