Mindshift

When I woke this morning I had a very clear picture of how I wanted the day to progress.  I would tackle the literature searches which had been set to one side so I could devote a decent amount of time to them and give them the attention they deserve.  Then I would work through the document requests which had come through. Then I had a scheduled appointment with my boss which would take a chunk of my day. Then I would spend some time clearing more of the “I’ll get to it when I can” stuff off my desk.

Well…

Reality didn’t match my plan at all!  Frankly, it hardly ever does.  I’m starting to think that there’s not much point in setting out a game plan when the game doesn’t know my rules!

I think I need to set new rules and see how they work. Time spent prioritising is not wasted time.  Sure, it might take a little time away from tasks at the outset but, if done right, that time will be recouped and things will progress more rapidly and with less frustration and heartache.

The other thing I need to do is to learn how to say “No”…and mean it! As librarians, we are all keen to show our usefulness…often at our own expense.  In doing this, we set ourselves up for abuse and misuse. How nice it is to hear our clients say how much they rely on us and how they couldn’t live without us.  But think of how much nicer it is to hear them say that we taught them valuable skills so expertly that they are self-reliant and empowered.

Tough love.

I need to embrace a little more of that tough love and empowering philosophy that I do actually believe in and let go of the pandering, fawning sycophancy that pretends to serve but is ultimately self-serving and, ironically, self-destructive.

Now, shall we have a Musical Challenge?

No answers from yesterday so I’ll just get stuck in with today’s pair of stumpers.

Song 25:

I want to hold the hand inside you
I want to take a breath that’s true
I look to you and I see nothing
I look to you to see the truth

 

Song 26:

Hold me now
Touch me now
I don’t want to live without you

 

This entry was posted in Librarianship, Life choices, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

