Roots & passion

Tonight I have my first house guest in my new home. Actually, she is the first house guest I’ve had in about eight or nine years!

We’ve spent the night watching the State of Origin and painting our nails.  It has been an enjoyable night, reconnecting with my former passion for watching Origin and having the opportunity to paint my nails in front of the TV…with company! 

It felt like I was getting back to the things that I really enjoy.  Like many people, I go through phases of enjoying a particular thing and then that passes.  Sometimes it’s nice to revisit those things that give us energy and fuel the other parts of our lives that aren’t as inspiring.

I’ve been wanting to get back into watching football on a regular basis.  It’s usually easy enough to pop the TV on and watch the team of choice like Redcliffe Dolphins or Brisbane Broncos, less easy to watch other teams I used to follow like Kildare Lilywhites.  I remember fondly going to Croke Park to watch Kildare with an old friend who played in the Number 3 jersey for Kildare at championship level in the 1950s (being on the winning team in the Leinster Final in 1956).

Perhaps I need to think about reconnecting with more of those things that get me fired up.  Finding and following my passion is something I might need to do a bit more.

Now for the Musical Challenge!

Nobody had a shot at either Song 21 or 22 so I have no winners today. Song 24 is really well known so I’m only going to give one line.

Song 23:

If I could turn the page
In time then I’d rearrange just a day or two
Close my, close my, close my eyes

Song 24:

But that was love and it’s an ache I still remember

This entry was posted in Life choices, Private life, Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roots & passion

  1. song 23 – little lies fleetwood mac – love that song and love them. Also love your nails!!

  2. Emily says:

    but you didn’t have to cut me up Fi can’t believe I didn’t see it at first but it is Gotye – Somebody that I used to know

Leave a Reply

