Monday Manicure

Friends from Twitter, Facebook and IRL will be all too aware that I love to paint my nails.  I’ve been painting my nails for years and years and years.  About a year ago, I began doing something a little more interesting.  Nail Art.

It all began rather innocently.  I would be sitting reading articles for my PhD research but I had a tendency to fidget.  So I needed to do something mindless to keep my hands occupied while my brain was processing the info I was ploughing through.  I don’t know what made me think of painting my nails but I just did it and it worked.  I was able to concentrate on my reading and I ended up with a nice manicure.

Nail art sampler

There is an inherent requirement to sit still and focus on the task at hand (pardon the pun).  I would paint a coat and then sit and read while that coat dried, then I would put the article or book down and paint the next layer while thinking about what I’d read and the implications for the context I was investigating.  This would continue until I’d finished the article and the manicure.

This progressed to painting nails and doing some more intricate designs by way of relaxation even when I wasn’t reading. I treat it as a bit of enforced quiet time.  I never took time to sit and do nothing so this is a real treat for me to take a few minutes out of my day to clear my mind of all but the little bit of creativity required to paint the design.

There are times when I lack inspiration or my ability doesn’t match up with my vision but, all in all, I really enjoy my nail art time.

Now for the Musical Challenge!

Emily was the first to correctly answer Song 17 as Dirty Talk by Wynter Gordon.  Song 18 was It Wasn’t Me by Shaggy, answered first by Julia.   Bonnie went back and correctly answered Song 12 (from Day 7).  It was Grenade by Bruno Mars (or the a capella version as I listen to it by Shane Stever and Seth Johnson).

Song 19:

Here come the planes.
They’re American planes. Made in America.
Smoking or non-smoking?

 

Song 20:

You let me change lanes
while I was driving in my car.

 

This entry was posted in Private life, Research, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Manicure

  1. Jackie says:

    Song 20 is Whoever You Are by Geggy Tah (sp?).

Leave a Reply

