A simpering, whimpering child again

I must admit, I’m really not in the mood to blog tonight. However, it’s only day three of #blogjune and I’m not a quitter.

Seeking comfort in an Angry bird beanie/scarf

Recently, I’ve not been feeling very well.  Frankly, I’m not entirely sure what my body is doing…other than just giving me the irrits.  I seem to have a whole host of disconnected symptoms but I’m not going to go into that here.  Suffice to say, I’m not really in the mood for doing much and I really should go and get myself seen to.

At times like this, I retreat into my world of music. I indulge my guilty pleasures for the less “cool” genres.  Some people curl up with a good book, others crawl into bed and watch black and white movies. I rip out the soft jazz and get stuck in to the crooners.  I think it takes me back to my childhood and listening to my dad hum, sing or whistle tunes from his youth.  I catch myself singing songs from the 80s so it’s completely understandable that Dad would sing songs of the 30s, 40s and 50s. Even as I listen to the original recording artists sing these songs, I hear Dad’s voice and not theirs.

I’m not sure what it is about being sick but for me, at least, I become a child again. I crave the nurturing care of my parents.  As I took ill again today I was actually with my mother so she was right there on hand to be the caring Mummy that the little girl inside me wanted.  My dad passed away 10 years ago so my link to him is strongest for me through this music.

This leads me beautifully into the Musical Challenge.  Song 2 is still unanswered, as is Song 3.  Song 4 was answered correctly by Ghylene on Twitter – it was, of course, Summertime by Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince.

So I’ll add a few more lyrics to the unanswered songs and give you two new ones  – one that I’m listening to now and I’ll throw in a more modern one from my other playlist to give everyone a fair shot).

Song 2 (C’mon! I’ve practically given it away now!):

Lovely girl you’re the beauty in my world
Without you there aren’t reasons left to find

And you’ll pull your crooked teeth
You’ll be perfect just like me
You’ll be a lover in my bed
And a gun to my head
We must never be apart
We must never be apart

Song 3:

And I never meant to hurt you
I swear I didn’t mean
Those things I said
I never meant to do that to you
Next time I’ll keep my hands to myself instead

Oh, does she love you
What do you want to do?
Does she need you like I do?
Do you love her?
Is she good for you?
Does she hold you like I do?

Song 5:

Men cluster to me
Like moths around a flame
And if their wings burn
I know I’m not to blame

Song 6:

Well I gotta’ keep it going keep it going full steam
Too sweet to be sour too nice to be mean
Well on the tough guy style I’m not too keen
To try to change the world I will plot and scheme

This entry was posted in Family, Music, Private life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A simpering, whimpering child again

  1. leesaphilip says:

    Song 3 is Melissa Etheredge… as soon as I remember the name…

  2. leesaphilip says:

    PS love the hoodie

  3. leesaphilip says:

    Song 3 = Like the way I do

  4. Julia G says:

    Well, I know the one from your title – it’s Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, from Pal Joey. Half a point?

  5. Pingback: A week in review | Bun-toting Librarian

  6. Jenny says:

    6 is Beastie Boys ‘intergalactic planetary’

  7. Pingback: Climax | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

