Sing! Sing a song!

“Vide, ut quod ore cantas, corde credas, et quod corde credis, operibus comprobes

This prayer is a blessing for cantors as decreed by the Tenth Canon of the Fourth Council of Carthage (c398 AD).  It translates as “See that what you sing with your lips you do believe in your heart, and that what you believe in your heart you do show forth in your works”.  Each time I sing or play at church, I try to hold these words in my heart for without that I am just a noise with no soul.  A gong booming or a cymbal clashing…to paraphrase Corinthians 13:1 (my second favourite scripture).

My day began with a meeting regarding the Music Ministry in our parish which I oversee.  Some parts of my role have been giving me some grief recently so today’s meeting was an opportunity for our parish priest to gauge the feeling within the ministry about how things are going and what we can do next. It was a really positive meeting and I felt pretty happy with the support I have from both the clergy and my fellow music ministers.

Ready to sing at the wedding.

As I was singing at a wedding later in the day and I have recently been battling a few ailments, it seemed wise to have a bit of a practice with my accompanist.

Our youngest musician was there and had brought his violin so he joined the practice as well.  We ended up having so much fun from playing the various hymns that we just kept going and going! I think we sang for almost two hours!

After going home for a quick spot of lunch at a bit of frocking up, it was time to head back to the church for the wedding.  More singing! Yay!

I was pretty happy with the “performance” (I hate using that word to describe singing in the church).  Actually, I think my organist and I made a pretty good team.  It has left me in brilliant spirits for the rest of the day.  That was hours ago and I’m still on a buzz!

Ahhhh…

Now for today’s Musical Challenge.  Song 1 (from yesterday) was answered correctly by Angela in Facebook as Na Conghailigh by Christy Moore but Song 2 is still unanswered so I’ll add another few lines to make it a bit easier.

Keeping with the promise to use lyrics from the song playing as I blog, I will need to add another (easier) song because I think Song 3 is a little obscure.

Song 2:

Lovely girl you’re the beauty in my world
Without you there aren’t reasons left to find

And you’ll pull your crooked teeth
You’ll be perfect just like me

 

Song 3:

And I never meant to hurt you
I swear I didn’t mean
Those things I said
I never meant to do that to you
Next time I’ll keep my hands to myself instead

 

Song 4:

Here it is the groove slightly transformed
Just a bit of a break from the norm
Just a little somethin’ to break the monotony
Of all that hardcore dance that has gotten to be
A little bit out of control it’s cool to dance
But what about the groove that soothes that moves romance.

This entry was posted in Mass, Music, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sing! Sing a song!

  1. leesaphilip says:

    Song 3 = Jealous Guy – Brian Ferry?

  2. Alexander says:

    YAY I’m featured in the blog as the ‘youngest musician’! haha – I have not ideas for these song lyrics.

    • fionawb says:

      You’re not the youngest in the Music Ministry…but you are the youngest musician. We have two singers who are younger than you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

