Ready? Set? Blog!

Today is an important day. It is the first day of winter in the Southern Hemisphere.  It is the birthday of Marilyn Monroe, Morgan Freeman and Blessed Edmund Rice.  It is the anniversary of the deaths of Yves Saint Laurent and Helen Keller….

…..AND……

…it is the first day of #blogjune – a time when I, along with a whole host of folks (mostly librarians and information professionals), blog every day of June.

Maintaining the momentum and finding inspiration are usually the two greatest hurdles but through taking on the challenge of #blogjune in years’ past I’ve learned more about myself than I ever expected to.  So it is worth the effort to keep going despite writers’ block and ennui.

Last year I ended each #blogjune post with a musical challenge.  I posted the lyrics of a song and asked readers to reply with the song title (without the assistance of Google or other search engine).  It proved to be quite enjoyable so I think I might do it again this year.

It will be no surprise to regular readers of my blog and those who know me that I’m quite extroverted and I am energised by sharing aspects of my life with whoever I encounter.  My music collection is a window to my mind and soul.  Eclectic, jumbled and, on occasions, downright scary! So I will share my music.

Sesame Street nails…fresh for #blogjune!

Speaking of my soul, regular readers and friends will know well that I’m of a religious persuasion. I’m a Catholic. I’ve never held back from saying that and I’m not likely to bludgeon you with my views but neither will I shy away from owning my views and, if I feel so inclined, sharing them.  You’ve been warned.

Recently, I’ve become quite interested in nail art.  I paint my nails every two or three days, usually with some design (i.e. not just a single colour). So I will include pictures of my art here as well.

I love my job! I am more likely to blog about my life from a holistic sense rather than focus on Library and Information Science and my work.  As a solo librarian, I have very little time to explore LIS beyond my day-to-day tasks but I may blog about things that happen to me in my working day…maintaining our professional code of conduct, of course.

That probably sums up all I wanted to say right now so I’ll say goodnight and add today’s musical challenge.  Most times I will just take a line from the song I’m listening to as I blog (as I pretty much have music constantly playing from the moment I wake to the moment I sleep).  However, tonight I’ll put two songs as this song I’m listening to right now will not be known by many of my non-Irish readers.  I’m hoping my Irish friends and colleagues will have a crack at guessing the song and the artist.  For non-Irish speakers, I’ll have a second song for you.  😉

Musical Challenge

Song 1:

Dia libh a bheirt iascairí breátha
Nach mbeidh ar air ar bharr na trá
Go raibh sibh sona sásta ar neamh
Thomás is Seán Ó Conghaile

Song 2:

Lovely girl you’re the beauty in my world
Without you there aren’t reasons left to find

This entry was posted in Librarianship, Music, Private life, Reflection and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ready? Set? Blog!

  1. I love your Sesame Street nail art! I’m rubbish at lyrics, though. If it was a tune…I’m probably still be rubbish, lets be honest.

  2. Pingback: Sing! Sing a song! | Bun-toting Librarian

  3. Pingback: IMHO | Bun-toting Librarian

  4. Pingback: It’s #BLOGJUNE!!!!! | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

