LIW Monday

Welcome to my first blog post for #blogliw (blogging each day of Library and Information Week)!

Ok. So the week technically began yesterday but I wasn’t at work and I didn’t really do anything library related…so let’s let that one slide.

Today, I went to work for only a half day. In that time, however, I managed to do a little circulation, some document delivery, some shelving, and a big chunk of info lit. I was quite happy with the work I did in the short time I was there. It really captured the essence of what it means to be a solo librarian.

I have no library assistants or technicians, no assistant librarians. I do it all. This is often quite taxing but also very rewarding. My success or failure is totally up to me. That makes the successes all the sweeter.

I left work so early because I had very important family business to attend to – my brother’s wedding. It was a most beautiful thing to witness and I was so glad to be there.

Then I dashed away from nuptial festivities to be a part of the annual ALIA LIW Trivia Night. I was part of the winning team in 2010. We lost our title in 2011 and I was keen to regain the crown.

We came a very creditable second to the Quizzards of Oz who, incidentally, were comprised of some of our former teammates. They beat us by a measly one point. I must admit that I’m rather miffed as a significant chunk of bonus points were awarded to them for non-intellectual pursuits such as dancing! So I say we were the moral and intellectual victors.

All this left me plumb tuckered out so that’s all from me for today.

Here are a couple of pics of the Trivia Night (Inspired by this year’s ALIA LIW theme “Think outside the book”, I made up team shirts with various quotes worn on our bodies and not in books).

The team (Aaron was getting the car and Mark was taking the pic):

20120522-135007.jpg

 

And a closeup of my quote:

20120522-135034.jpg

This entry was posted in Librarianship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LIW Monday

  1. John Nebauer says:

    Benjamin Franklin would be pleased….

Leave a Reply

