Epiphany

On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh.
–Matthew 2:11

The #blog12daysxmas challenge has ended.  Time to review. What gifts did I receive in the last 12 days? Certainly no gold, frankincense or myrrh but I do think I received and abundance of blessings.

After a strange day at work, tonight I went to a practice for our Filipino choir.  They sing once a month and the practice at someone’s house on the Friday night before the weekend they are due to sing.  This month I decided to join them.  I have only gone to one of their practices once before and had a great time then so I was happy to go again.

I was tired and sore from work, having given my desk a thorough clean.  So I had mixed feelings about going out.  I really just wanted to go home to bed.  Nevertheless, I pushed through the fatigue and went to the house where the practice was to be held.  As usual, our hostess had put on such a wonderful smorgasbord.

After dinner, we practiced all the hymns and Mass parts for the coming Sunday. Then I suggested we learn a couple of new hymns that would be potentially coming up for selection. As I suspected, this wonderful group of committed singers picked up the new hymns instantly.  Then an amazing thing happened.  We picked random hymns from our book just by flicking the pages and singing where the book fell open.  We had so much fun singing these random pieces.  We were united in our joy of singing and singing to the glory of God!

I feel so grateful for the blessings I have received and the life I have.  I complain about stress and fatigue and these are very real and unwanted parts of my life but I must acknowledge that I have much to be thankful for.

I have a loving family, good friends, a rewarding job, a moderately successful career, a not unpleasant voice…… and I could go on.

And I’m most grateful for the time and interest of my blog readers. Your comments and likes spur me on to post more and post better.  Thank you for your gift of support.  My mindless meanderings would be nothing if it weren’t for you.

This entry was posted in Private life, Reflection, Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Epiphany

  1. lv2inspire says:

    Any new blog challenges coming up? Did you decide to take daily photos in January (and I missed them?) Oh what will you do next? I am so curious 😉

Leave a Reply

