The seventh day of Christmas

As the 2011 draws to a close in the next 90 minutes, it is time to reflect.

For a whole host of reasons, this has not been the happiest year of my life. I don’t really want to elaborate on that at all in this post. I’d rather focus on the positives of 2011.

It has been a year of self-discovery, sharing and personal growth.  And this has come from the most unlikely of sources… #dailyimage2011!!!!

I joined this challenge a little late.  The challenge to take a photograph of oneself every day for one year began in almost one whole year ago on January 1.  I joined the party a month later on February 1.

My first shot (left) was “Librarian in the Library”…glasses, bun, library shirt, library sign.  It would only have been more cliched if I were in a twin-set and pearls and shushing!

Throughout the year I shared more of myself through these images than I ever would in a blog or perhaps even in person.  I gradually allowed my raw personality to be seen.  I captured things that were both trivial and important to me.  I bore my soul and exposed my vulnerabilities.  I “put it out there” and tensed up in anxious anticipation of what might come back.

Love.

Acceptance.

Belonging.

Images ranged from the emotional…

…to the elated…

…to the sexy (?)…

…to the religious…

..to the bored (or tired)…

…to the downright crazy!

 

There was the usual focus on hair

…and the introduction of a fascination with nails…

…a little dash of music…

…and a touch of reading.

 

There were even glimpses of the people (and animals) I love…

…and much more!

All in all, I’ve enjoyed this challenge and I think I’ll keep going next year. I’ve really appreciated sharing pieces of myself (especially as I’m an extroverted exhibitionist) but I’ve mostly been surprised at just how I’ve got to know and accept myself.  Through it all I’ve learned to live with myself.

So all that’s left is to leave you with the final image for 2011

and wish you

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Life choices, Music, Private life, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The seventh day of Christmas

  1. This is fantastic. It must take a lot of courage to put a picture of yourself out every day: and it is strange how the non verbal portrayal of yourself has proved a way to celebrate the positives in life! Your collection of pictures is amazing. Inspiring, even. It’s enough to make one want to have a try oneself: the only thing that gives me pause is that I just don’t think I could be as beautifully presented as you all the time!

    I am tempted, though…

    • fionawb says:

      It was challenging to give myself permission to be seen as anything less than “properly put together”, i.e. full makeup, nice hair, etc. Having days where I looked terrible and still getting positive comments on these pics from my friends on Flickr actually made me feel better. It was so rewarding.:-)

  2. Tammy says:

    You are a brave woman to have so many photos. Nice job.

    • fionawb says:

      Thank you! These are only a snapshot of the images from Flickr. I only missed one day from Feb 1st to Dec 31st!

  3. Gemma says:

    Fabulous photos. Maybe I’ll do for 2013…

  4. Pingback: Cult of selfie | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

