They might be favourites

Since my brother and an old friend from school introduced me to They Might Be Giants back in the late 80s/early 90s, I’ve often found their quirky lyrics tickle my funny bone in a way no other music ever has.

Today I wore my hair in a ponytail with a heavy fringe which put me in mind of their song “Bangs”.  So I sought out this song on YouTube only to stumble on another song from the same album (Mink Car).  The other song resonated with my mood at the time.  It was Hopeless Bleak Despair.

Tonight, I’m in a better mood but still keen to listen to some of my old TMBG faves.  It occurred to me just how much some lines really jump out at me and I thought I’d share a few with you…

from Ana Ng (this is an all-time fave of any song, not just TMBG):

I don’t want the world, I just want your half.

from Puppet Head:

Memo to myself: do the dumb things I gotta do
Touch the puppet head

from Lie Still, Little Bottle:

Life is a placebo masquerading as a simile

from Don’t Let’s Start:

No one in the world ever gets what they want and that is beautiful
Everybody dies frustrated & sad and that is beautiful

from Kiss Me, Son of God (this is probably my favourite along with the line from Ana Ng):

Now you’re the only one here who can tell me if it’s true
That you love me and I love me

from Older:

You’re older than you’ve ever been
and now you’re even older
and now you’re older still

In addition to these little grabs, there are some songs I just adore in their entirety (for different reasons:

  • Famous Polka
  • Another First Kiss
  • Man, It’s so Loud in Here
  • S-E-X-X-Y
  • Mammal
  • Road Movie to Berlin
  • Your Racist Friend

To quote good old Molly, “Do yourself a favour” and hunt these down for a listen.

Enjoy!

S-E-X-X-Y

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They might be favourites

  1. Sean Murgatroyd says:

    I love Birdhouse in Your Soul. Favourite lines:

    Not to put too fine a point on it
    Say I’m the only bee in your bonnet
    Make a little birdhouse in your soul

Leave a Reply

