Mondegreens

What’s a mondegreen? The simplest explanation is that it is a misheard line from a song or a poem. It all began with Sylvia Wright mishearing this poem:

Ye Highlands and ye Lowlands,
Oh, where hae ye been?
They hae slain the Earl O’ Moray,
And Lady Mondegreen.

The final line should have been

Hold me closer, Tony Danza

And laid him on the green.

So was coined the term.

I had always intended to do a post on mondegreens during #blogjune and today seems as good a day as any to do it.

So for your entertainment and brain-teasing, I shall provide a series of mondegreens. Your job is to work out the correct lyrics and provide them along with the song title. Just pop your answer in the comments. So, this is a Musical Challenge with a twist.

Example mondegreen

No ducks orgasm in the classroom

The correct lyrics are “No dark sarcasm in the classroom” which is a line from Another Brick in the Wall by Pink Floyd.

Now it’s your turn! (Hint: it helps to say them out loud…although you might want to check to see if anyone is within earshot in case they hear you and think you are insane.)

LIMIT ONE ANSWER PER PERSON

Song 1

Bingo, Jed and Lionel

Song 2

Hit me with your pet shark

Song 3

Australians all said, “Ostriches!”
Four minus one is three.

Song 4

My sound is the sound of Microsoft

Song 5

Block the TaskBar
Block the TaskBar

Song 6

Shamu the mysterious whale

Song 7

Saving his life from his pork sausages.

Song 8

There’s a bathroom on the right.

Song 9

The girl with colitis goes by.

Song 10

They’ve got a rotten politician in their travel bag.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mondegreens

  1. Figgles1 says:

    I know a few but will just answer no. 4 Which is, of course, Australians all let us rejoice!
    Did you hear about the London schoolchildren who were afraid to ride on the underground ‘cos they thought the Lord’s Prayer said “Lead us not into Thames Station”!

  2. Adam Foreman says:

    Song three:
    Australians, all let us rejoice. For we are young & free. ~ Australian National Anthem

  3. Adam Foreman says:

    Song five:
    Rock the Casbah, Rock the Casbah ~ Rock the Casbah

    • fionawb says:

      Absolutely! (Also, I should have said, there’s a limit of one win per person so I’ve suppressed your other answer to give someone else a go. For the record, you were right, of course.)

  4. Adam Foreman says:

    Song 8
    I can’t remember the name of the song ‘coz I have those stupid alternatate lyrics stuck in my head now….but it goes something like……..”I see a (something something something), I see trouble on the way…………don’t go out tonight, ‘coz it’s bound to take your life”…….and then that alternate line – “there’s a bathroom on the right”.

    • Danielle Nichols says:

      Adam, it’s Bad Moon Rising by Creedence Clearwater Revival. Which I have to admit, I knew from the start that I knew the song, but I couldn’t actually get until I read your post.

  5. Adam Foreman says:

    Actually….I’m surprised you didn’t slip a James Reyne song in there…..you could get most anything out of his slurred lyrics! >.<

  6. Peta says:

    Song 2 hit me with your best shot

    • fionawb says:

      Yes! Well done. πŸ™‚

      Sorry, I’ve had to suppress your other answers. I should have said it’s a limit of one answer per person.

  7. bookgrrl says:

    Song 9 is Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds by the Beatles πŸ™‚

  8. Danielle Nichols says:

    Number nine is Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds – The girl with kaleidoscope eyes. Although, with the amount of drugs that were reportedly being used by Mr Lennon and Mr McCartney, they may well have produced a song about Colitis.

  9. Katie says:

    Song 7 is Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. I could totally answer almost every one of these!

  10. Katie says:

    My hubby (when he was a child) thought the Adam and the Ants’ song “stand and deliver” was ‘stand on your liver’
    Others I know of : “we built this city on the wrong damn road”
    “4 legged woman…. 4 legged woman to me”
    “every time you go away, you take a piece of meat with you”

    • fionawb says:

      I used think Kiss were singing “I wanna rock and roll all night and part of every day”…which I thought was quite responsible. We all need a little down time.

  11. Leesa Philip says:

    I guess that leaves no 1 for me Steve Miller Band and that ‘big old Jet Airliner, don’t carry me too far away!’

    • fionawb says:

      Yes! Steve Miller is an endless source of mondegreens. I nearly did the line “Fly like a negro, 203″…which is actually “Fly like an eagle to the sea”

  12. Katie says:

    Someone here at work just told me a great one!
    “I’ve got flu, rickets and parasites…..”
    Can you guess it?

    Can’t……Stop……Laughing

Leave a Reply

