On friendship

Today I had a head full of blog-worthy goodness.  At some point in the evening it all went south so I’ll just rabbit along for a bit with my stream of consciousness and see what emerges.

I can say is was a good day spent in the company of good friends…one of whom is about to be married (hence the gathering).

The first task of my day (while still in pyjamas) was to rush to the aid of a friend. So I jumped in the car, pyjamas and all, and made the dash to help said friend.

Between lunch and shopping yesterday, my mercy dash this morning and lunch again today, this weekend has been all about friends.

Good friends are the greatest treasures a person can have.  Looking back over my life I would say that I’ve had quite a few of these treasures.  However, it wasn’t always so.  I don’t want to to into the sob story and I’m certainly not seeking pity but I would say that, as a child, I didn’t have any friends.  There were no children my age in my neighbourhood.  The children at school treated me as an object of ridicule. Sure, there were a couple of people I would spend time with at morning tea and lunch breaks but these were little more than acquaintances who tolerated me.

High school was a turning point.  I met a group of girls who did accept me into their circle but I felt their relationships with each other were always stronger than their relationships with me.  Some part of me always felt on the outer. I have stayed in contact with some of these girls through and they may well be reading this so I do want to stress that I don’t think they ever knowingly put me on the outer…I think I may have put myself there.  I have shades of a martyr complex.  I’d like to also stress that as the years progressed those relationships did grow considerably closer and I was glad about that.

Regular readers of this blog may remember the 12 songs that changed my life post where I mentioned Sunday Bloody Sunday (Song 2) as a real watershed moment.  I can’t put my finger on what changed but it seemed that in the 4 minutes or so that I was on stage the world turned on its head.  Attitudes towards me changed…for the better.  Or at least that’s how it felt.  The friendships I had were strengthened and those that once teased me did so with considerably less frequency and intensity than before those 4 minutes on stage.

The latter years of high school saw boys join the mix.  This worked well for me…and probably not for the reasons you might think!  I had 4 older brothers.  Boys are simple creatures.  Much easier to understand and get along with than girls.  My friendships with these boys stayed with me long after school finished.  Many of these friendships are still going strong.  We have not lost touch and I still hold them deep in my heart.

Adult friendships are a different kettle of fish.  I still maintain that friendships with males are easier than those with females but I can now happily say that I have a lovely bunch of female friends as well as males.  I would gladly bend over backwards for almost all of them.  Sacrificing one’s own pleasure or convenience for a friend is one of the greatest gifts one can give.  To add a little bit of religion (coz it’s Sunday), “greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends” Jn 15:13.  Would I die for my friends?  I don’t know.  But I do know that I would do all within my power to help a friend.  That’s what friendship is.

Great distances may separate us.  I have maintained friendships across hemispheres (and still do).  Time between conversations can be quite long.  I have gone years without speaking to some friends yet the relationship remained as strong as ever.  Disagreements arise and dissipate.  Friendship lasts.

God bless my friends.  I love you all.

 

Now, for a change of pace…

Musical Challenge!!

Poor pussy, poor pussy cat.

This entry was posted in Private life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On friendship

  1. Alexander R says:

    lol what song line is that!!! ???
    If it makes you fell any better I didnt have any friends from the middle of grade 2 to grade 6 – I used to walk around with the teachers on duty! But I didnt really mind – we had good conversations – though I did like having friends. Now I have tonnes! (I’m not bragging :P).

  2. Katie says:

    Omg that’s the I’m too sexy song right said Fred.
    I’m to sexy for my cat, too sexy for my cat

  3. Leesa Philip says:

    I knew this one too…

  4. Love you too sweety. Wonderful to spend the day yesterday, it was truly a gorgeous event. xoxo

  5. seanmurgatroyd says:

    Woot to Katie. I’m still thinking about Tom Jones.

    Boyhood is funny. Really it’s not that we’re simple, its that we’re hypnotised at that age. It’s a relief to be of an age where I’m still vastly amused by my women friends – and like you, more comfortable with the opposite – but I can hear *what they’re saying* not *just that they’re talking to me*.

    Phileo,
    seanfish

Leave a Reply

