Randomy randomness

This blogpost is an exercise in crowdsourced randomness. It probably demonstrates the disparate chaos that exists in the collective minds of numerous librarians…or my twitter followers, at least.

I called for one-word suggestions for blog topics.  These were the responses I’ve chosen: necropants, hiccups, organisation and beer.  Eclectic, to say the least.

Necropants

Until @snailx mentioned this, I’d never heard of such a thing.  Since then I’ve gone on a voyage of discovery through the murky waters of Wikipedia and the dark shoals of various fora.  I’ve learned that Necropants (or Nábrókarstafur) are pants made from the skin of a dead man.  Apparently, if you steal a coin from a poor widow and place it in the scrotum of the pants, they are said to produce an endless supply of money.  Frankly, for me I think they’d only produce an endless supply of nightmares!  I’ll stick to conventional fabrics, thanks all the same.  Had anyone considered the infection control implications of this practice?

Hiccups

Thanks to @happylibrarykat for this suggestion.  These are funny little spasms in the diaphragm that most of us experience to varying degrees in our lives.  Some unfortunate people suffer the spasms permanently.  I don’t want to talk about that.  I love that this was suggested because it allows me to expound on its spelling.

Oh, yes! A common usage controversy! I love this stuff!

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, this word has had an interesting journey through a variety of different spellings:

1500s hicke up, hikup — 1500s–1600s hickop — 1600s hickhop, hecup — 1600s–1700s hiccop — 1600s–1800s hickup, hick-up 1600s-present hiccup AND 1600s-present hiccough.

Even when spelled “hiccough” it is still pronounced hɪkʌp (for those who are familiar with IPA) and hĭk’ŭp (for those who aren’t).

Beer

This comes courtesy of @acrystelle. Tonight we met for a tweet-up. Not one of us had beer.  I had a glass of Chardonnay.  I don’t drink beer.  I can’t stand the taste.  I used to drink Breó when I worked at Guinness.  It was not popular and was discontinued.  The general classes of alcohol that I drink include wine, clear spirits (and a few non-clear ones) and cider.  I’ll try most things but I’ve ruled out beer, cold whiskey (but I will drink hot whiskey and Irish coffee) and rum…to name just a few.

Organisation

The final suggestion I’m going to talk about comes from @actorvious.  Actually, the suggestions were organisation, order, logistics.  I’ve chosen organisation because I have none.

My organisational skills – as they pertain to keeping order – are poor, at best. The truth is, they are diabolical.  This is no more apparent than at this very moment as I type this. I have just got home and sat down at my incredibly messy desk after having searched the house high and low for a quick unpick to remove the tulle underskirt from a dress I am going to wear tomorrow night (I have a bustle of my own – baby got back!).

So, as I currently lack the correct tool to do the job quickly, I will now finish this to attend to the arduous task of unpicking two layers of tulle with nought but tiny scissors and kick-ass fingernails.

All that’s left to do now is the Musical Challenge!

Little Miss Muffet sat on a tuffet
Eating her curds and whey
Along came a spider, sat down beside her
Said: “What’s in the bowl, bitch”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Randomy randomness

  1. Alexander R says:

    Is this song not called “Little Miss Muffet”??

Leave a Reply

