One week in

We’re now one full week into the month of #blogjune and I’d like to take a moment to look over the last seven days.

Since this time last week I have completed my final two assignments for the unit of coursework I’m doing this semester.  I only have two units of coursework to do as a foundation for the PhD I’m undertaking.  So to complete this first unit (successfully) after a seven year break from academic life has been a real boost to my confidence and enthusiasm.

I’ve really enjoyed blogging again.  I think I need the motivation of a daily blog challenge to keep me engaged.  I’ve tried pacing myself  by using the daily Musical Challenge.  Incidentally, here are the winners from the last week:

31st May (practice run) – Sharon U
1st June – Teresa B
2nd June – Katie W
3rd June – Katie W
4th June – Brad R
5th June – Google…as operated by Leesa P
6th June – Leesa P
7th June – still up for grabs!

I tend to do well with stream of consciousness entries.  I guess that’s what this is.  My attention span is pretty short for this sort of thing, hence my Squirrel post.

I’ve realised that I don’t really talk about my work very much and, given that the name of this blog is based on what I do for a living, I probably should talk about it a little more.  I’ve said on a few occasions that I love my job but I never really express why.  Perhaps that might be a post for tomorrow.

Actually, this week there have been a few infringements on my time that I haven’t been entirely happy about so I did want to talk about work-life balance at some point. This is largely due to the fact that I don’t have one.  Balance, that is.

In a last ditch attempt to get some balance back into today at least, I might head off to bed now.  My thumping headache which woke me up this morning has stayed faithfully with me throughout the day.  It needn’t have done so. I’d have been quite happy should it have gone away.

Seeing as yesterday’s Musical Challenge has gone unanswered, today’s is a little easier:

And if I only could,
I’d make a deal with God,
And I’d get him to swap our places

This entry was posted in Librarianship, Life choices and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One week in

  1. Adam Foreman says:

    Umm…Running Up that Hill…..by Kate Bush…..also covered by Placebo & Within Temptation!

  2. Hoi says:

    damn I missed… ok… I should NOT google the answer… but you know.. as a librarian.. ;p

  3. Adam Foreman says:

    Hehe…..I only got it becasue Within Temptation is my all time favourite group & I particularly like their version of the song over the original or Placebo’s. 😉 see it here -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNUNLn8pgcI
    vs Original -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6zlA1xLkjE&feature=fvst
    vs Placebo -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzI0thK61Dc

  4. Pingback: Three weeks of blogging | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

