June Blog!

Today is the first day of June.  That means it’s the first day of #blogeverydayofjune which is now just #blogjune.  As we embark on this blog month journey together, dear reader, I would like to take a moment to reflect on how far I have come in a year.  Just as in the title of that classic 1934 standard “What a Diff’rence a Day Makes”, what a difference a year makes! Here’s a snippet from my post describing 1st June 2010

Today was a God-awful day.  For all kinds of reasons, many which cannot be listed here, I had a dreadful day.  I faced bigotry, racism, stupidity, condescension, ignorance, pigheadedness…and, frankly, that was just the beginning!  I ended up with such a knot of anger and hatred in the pit of my stomach that I felt sorry for anyone who was stupid or reckless enough to cross swords with me.

WOW!

I can still feel the vitriol that was coursing through me that day.

Today was a far cry from that negativity.  Today was abundant with moments of humour, respect, enjoyment, productivity, success, empathy, friendship, love, progress, joy.

I wore a new dress.  I donned a happy attitude.  I felt good.  I could take on the world and win!

At this point in my life, particularly my professional life, I’m much more in control.  I’m no longer searching for that thing that feeds me. I have found it.

Many years ago a colleague described me as a “go-getter” and I was actually mildly offended! One of my fellow students when I was doing my library studies said “You sure can work a room”.  I never really tried to do any of those things – they just happened.  It is part of who I am.  I never thought of myself as a go-getter and I never thought I had ambition.  I just thought I got on with the job and tried to make friends along the way. I know I can schmooze and flirt with the best of them.  I make no apology for that.  I am who I am.

So who am I?

I’m a librarian who loves to laugh and sing and dance.  I try to bring this passion for life into my office everyday and leave the drudgery at the door.  I have no place for it.

To borrow from a butchered Henry David Thoreau quote…

I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived…I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life.

…or to take a biblical line from Ecclesiastes

You who are young, be happy while you are young,
and let your heart give you joy in the days of your youth.

So I face the month ahead with excitement and joy in the undiscovered possibilities and untapped potential for personal and professional growth and learning.

And now for the Musical Challenge!  I actually sang this line to a colleague this morning.

If I kiss you where it’s sore will you feel better

Your job is to guess the song that these lyrics come from.  There’ll be a new Musical Challenge in every post during #blogjune.  More about the challenge here.

This entry was posted in Librarianship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to June Blog!

  1. gigglesigh says:

    Don’t ever stop being you! Love the pic – fabulous

  2. Penny says:

    I love the you that is you 🙂

  3. Julia G says:

    New dresses are good! And from the brief time I’ve spent with you, yes, you know how to work a room, but you are genuine!

  4. Pingback: And they’re off and racing…. #blogjune roundup day 1 | Libraries Interact

  5. Kalgrl says:

    ‘better’ by Regina Spektor ?

  6. Pingback: One week in | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

