New eyes

Today was a long and arduous day.  I spent the day in orientation sessions.  The first was for Higher Degree Research students (i.e. PhD, Prof Doc & Masters Research).  It went for a few hours and had a few bits of good information, some of which was quite empowering.  Knowing others are having the same feelings of self-doubt or fear of failure is strangely comforting. I am not alone.

The second orientation was scheduled to run for an hour.  It actually went for more like 1.5hrs.  It felt like an eternity.  It was the orientation for the faculty.  There were four speakers.  Two speakers presented a topic of no relevance to me whatsoever and took about 10-15 minutes to say their bit. Another speaker barely spoke for 5 minutes and made only 2 points, both of which were useful. The fourth speaker spoke at different times throughout the orientation and took up around a full hour in total.  She went on and on and on…and on!  Yet, she said nothing of real importance.  Her voice became so grating that I actually focused on the piercing squeaks of one of the other presenters struggling to wipe writing off the whiteboard behind this fourth speaker.

The whole day left me drained and frankly cheated out of valuable time that I can ill-afford to waste.

New eyes by FionaWBI had intended to do some research for my first piece of assessment which is due on Tuesday but I could stomach no more and I took a walk into the city to distract myself and recapture some sanity.

With that done, I then set off to meet up with my husband at the other campus and head home.

We detoured to pick up my new specs (see pic).  They are emblazoned with a skull and roses on each arm.  I’m not really sure why I’m drawn to this but I am.

Anyway, with new glasses come new sight.  Clear. Fresh. Perspective.  All good things that fit with my Lenten reflections.

I pray for clear sight. Not just to see the physical world around me but to see the deeper levels that exist in each of us.  I pray that I find clarity.  Of mind.  Of purpose.  I pray that I will put things into perspective.  To give greater importance to those things that are worthy and to relegate those things which are not.

This entry was posted in Private life, Religion, Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New eyes

  1. monkiegirl says:

    Skulls and Roses – an interesting choice and perhaps not one I may have chosen for myself still I am sure they suit you. Sorry that you had a bad time of it today. Meetings are awful at the best of times but I hope the glasses at least provide you better sight and your prayers give you the insight you are looking for.

    Therefore, I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

    Hebrews 10:22-23

Leave a Reply

