On the second day of Christmas

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me it was all about…SHOPPING!!!

It could have been about St Stephen’s Day.  It could have been about the Feast of the Holy Family.  But it wasn’t.  It was the madness that is Boxing Day Sales.

Bargains! Bargains! Bargains!  …we’ll come back to that.

Parking…no wait, there was not much of that.  Bad driving. Inconsiderate drivers in the shopping centre car park. Cars parked on the roadway, not just in marked parking spots.

People! More than you could poke a stick at.

Frowns.  Sour faces of the shoppers who’d spent hours trying to park their cars, hours searching for elusive items only to discover that the discount was not as much as they’d hoped or that the item was discounted heavily but not available in their size, colour, etc. Exasperated parents of children who were so unhappy to be in the throng.  Screaming babies whose parents were distracted with the aforementioned bargains.

And those bargains?  Well, there were some but it required skills to locate them, tackle them to the ground and then bag them at the checkout.

I got a few items of clothing and some big ticket white goods.  So that itch got scratched.  As a self-confessed shopaholic I have mixed feelings about admitting that I got tired of the whole thing in just under an hour.  Normally, I could shop for about 6 hours and still not want to stop.  Might I quickly make the point that, in my opinion, shopping does not necessarily mean buying. To shop is to survey, to examine, to consider.  To buy is to commit, to hand over one’s hard earned cash.  I’m less fond of this aspect.

I think I redeemed myself, though.  I cut my shopping trip short to make the day about one of those things I mentioned earlier.  I left to go to Mass to play the organ for the Feast of the Holy Family.

The second reading in tonight’s Mass had a beautiful passage.  I rarely actually quote scripture here or anywhere else so please indulge me on this occasion.  I’ve cut out a few bits but here are the parts I want to share with you:

“… you should be clothed in sincere compassion, in kindness and humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with one another; forgive each other as soon as a quarrel begins. The Lord has forgiven you; now you must do the same. Over all these clothes, to keep them together and complete them, put on love… Always be thankful.

There wasn’t much of this love going on at the shopping centre today.  I hope that I try to live up to this instruction.  It’s not a bad idea, even if you aren’t a religious person.  How about we all try a bit of compassion…especially when we see someone take that parking space we’ve been waiting for?

This entry was posted in Mass, Music, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the second day of Christmas

  1. Penny says:

    that is a great passage and one that I would love to strive for too.

  2. Pingback: On the fifth day of Christmas | Bun-toting Librarian

  3. Pingback: The second day of Christmas | Bun-toting Librarian

  4. Pingback: On the second day of Christmas | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

