On the first day of Christmas

Today is born our Saviour, Christ the Lord.

I decided to start this blog challenge (#blog12daysxmas) for a few reasons:

1) I am such a slack blogger but I can stick to a short challenge
2) I haven’t blogged in such a long time and this was a way to scratch the itch
3) It bugs me intensely that so many people don’t realise that the 12 Days of Christmas actually run from Christmas (25th December) to Epiphany (6th January).

So without further ado….

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me it was all about… FAMILY

I spent the day with my family.  Admittedly, not all of them.  I was sorry I couldn’t see them all. I love them all so much and I don’t always tell them but I hope they all know that I care deeply for them all even if we aren’t always in contact all the time and they are never far from my thoughts.

Christmas for me is a time to relax and enjoy spending time with the people we love the most.  In my family it is also a time to overeat and then lounge about the place snoozing all afternoon.  I didn’t overeat this year but I did have a snooze at my father-in-law’s house.  Mind you, I’d had very little sleep in the previous 48 hours.  I had gone shopping from 12.30am on 24th December and didn’t get home until nearly 5am.  Then I slept for a few hours. That night I conducted the church choir for a Festival of Carols as well as Christmas Vigil Mass.  As if that weren’t enough, I came back to play the organ for Midnight Mass!  So two very late nights/early mornings took their toll on me by the afternoon and I had a nanna nap.

It’s almost midnight now (which is my deadline for this blog post).  So I’d better wrap this up and publish it.  However, I’d be a bit remiss if I didn’t doff my cap to the name of this blog (Bun-toting Librarian) and make a bun or librarian reference.

One of the lovely gifts I was given was a book of malapropisms and mondegreens (BTW, I lurve mondegreens) <- very tenuous library reference.

Here comes the bun reference…

Yes, I sported a bun today! If you look closely, it is tucked away back there.
(The fake moustache & lips were from a Christmas cracker.)

This entry was posted in Mass, Music, Private life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the first day of Christmas

  1. Leesa says:

    Could it be, FiWB, that we’re not all as edumicated as you in the finer points of Christian history as you?? 😉

    And didn’t your true love give you….

    A car body up a gum tree!

    Leesa

  2. Pingback: Jenelle.net Blog » Blog Archive » The twelve days of Christmas…

  3. Pingback: On the fifth day of Christmas | Bun-toting Librarian

  4. Pingback: The twelfth day of Christmas | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

