We’re a crafty lot

Have you ever noticed just how many librarians are into craft, especially scrapbooking, papercraft, crochet and knitting? There must be a certain mindset or personality type that draws us in to these areas.

Yesterday I spent all day enjoying the delights of the Scrapbook & Papercraft Expo at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre with my good friend and colleague and I hope that a blog post about our findings might be of interest to some of my fellow handicraft enthusiasts.  (This was originally intended to be an epic post on the interwoven themes of librarianship and hand-crafts but a distinct lack of energy and inspiration has taken it’s toll on my post.)

I am a card-maker.  I have never done scrapbooking.  However, I do have an intention to assist with the scrapbook of a certain hens night I was involved in and I also intend to make 2 6×6 scrapbooks for a couple of people who aren’t expecting them (so “Shhhh”).  The papercraft show has quite a range of products for the myriad scrapbooking and card-making style that exist.  Every year it blows my mind with the possibility of what can be created with just a little bit of imagination.

Anyway, here’s the craft “pron” 🙂

The biggest ric rac I have ever seen in my life!!!

A crafter’s closet to die for…

(More info from vendor’s site.)

Rachel’s haul…

My haul…

The only thing I need now is inspiration!

This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We’re a crafty lot

  1. haikugirloz says:

    Can’t go wrong with a craft post IMHO :o)

  2. Yep, I’ve also noted the connections between library people & craft. Very clever lot they (we) are!

  3. Penny says:

    That’s huge ric rac! You were very restrained ;-P
    I like scrapbooking and cards too.

  4. NomesD says:

    Yet another way my personality diverges from the “traditional” librarian. Craft – pfft. I spit on you!

  5. Pingback: 30 things meme | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

