All the world loves a meme

In the tradition of flexnib, batgirl and LiberryDwarf, here is my Monday Meme…

Do you snack while reading? Rarely.  I mostly read in bed…a few pages then off goes the light and off to sleep.

What is your favourite drink while reading? If I had a drink at all it would be either tea or coffee, depending on my mood.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you? Books should never be defaced!  Woe to those who do!

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat? Bookmark, docket, clothes tag or, if none of those are close at hand, just remember where I’m up to.  See above re defacing books.  I have similar views on broken spines which is why I never bend a book back on itself.

Fiction, non-fiction or both? Both

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere? To the end of the chapter if possible, dependent on how tired I am or if there is one (thanks, Terry Pratchett!).

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you? No – I just stop reading the book and complain to people about it. (See above re defacing!)

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away? Um…this sounds awfully conceited but I can’t honestly remember that happening to me…at least not since I was in primary school.  Back then I probably did drop all and run to the dictionary.  However, I was the kind of kid that actually read the dictionary cover to cover…hence this scenario not happening often. (Preemptive strike)

What are you currently reading? Ashamed to say that I’m hardly reading anything at all. If pushed, I’d say Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World (Vicki Myron and Bret Witter)

What is the last book you bought? I don’t buy books often – I support my public library <cheers and applause from the gallery>.  I think it was Schott’s Original Miscellany.  I do love a good reference book.

Do you have a favourite time/place to read? In bed just before lights off and sleepytime.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones? I have read Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series a few times over so I guess I love a good series.  I have also been known to sully my reading life with such drivel as the Dollanganger (aka Flowers in the Attic) series by Virginia Andrews.  However, I think I have sufficiently redeemed myself since then.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over? As per last answer, Terry Pratchett, Terry Pratchett, Terry Pratchett.

How do you organise your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)? I have so few (due to my patronage of the library) that it is mostly by aesthetic.  I will always keep a series together and in its intended order but that would be as organised as it gets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All the world loves a meme

  1. liberrydwarf says:

    I don’t suppose you like Pratchett at all?? :p

  2. haikugirloz says:

    I likes Terry too! Very funny and clever.

  3. Penny says:

    I was recommended a TP book when 15 and never looked back since 🙂 he’s great.

  4. Pingback: 2012 – National Year of Reading | Bun-toting Librarian

Leave a Reply

